Indian Army Brigades - 1st World War

v.1.0 January 31, 2007

Paul Watson

Brigade	Formation	Division	Area of Operations	Remarks
1 st (Peshawar)	Pre-war brigade	1 st (Peshawar)	India	July 1918 became 1st Brigade
1 st Secunderabad	Pre-war brigade	9 th (Secunderabad)	India	Renamed Secunderabad Brigade in October 1914
2 nd (Nowshera)	Pre-war brigade	1 st (Peshawar)	India	
2 nd Secunderabad	Pre-war brigade	9 th (Secunderabad)	India	Broken up in October 1914
3 rd (Abbottabad)	Pre-war brigade	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	
3 rd Quetta	April 1918	4 th (Quetta)	India	July 1918 became 57 th Brigade
^{4th} (Rawalpindi)	Pre-war brigade	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	
5 th (Jhelum)	Pre-war brigade	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	
6 th Indian	HQ formed October 1918	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	
7 th (Ferozepore)	Pre-war brigade	3 rd (Lahore)	France, Mesopotamia, Egypt	
8 th (Jullundur)	Pre-war brigade	3 rd (Lahore)	France, Mesopotamia, Egypt	
9 th (Sirhind))	Pre-war brigade	3 rd (Lahore)	France, Mesopotamia, Egypt	
10 th (1 st Quetta)	Pre-war brigade	4 th (Quetta)	India	July 1918 became 10 th Brigade
11 th (2 nd Quetta)	Pre-war brigade	4 th (Quetta)	India	July 1918 became 11 th Brigade
12 th Indian	January 1915	5 th (Mhow)	Mesopotamia	Joined 12 th Indian Div March 1915; joined 15 th Indian Div May 1916
16 th (Poona)	Pre-war brigade	6 th (Poona)	Mesopotamia	Captured at Kut al Amara April 29 th 1916
17 th (Ahmednagar)	Pre-war brigade	6 th (Poona)	Mesopotamia	Captured at Kut al Amara April 29 th 1916
18 th (Belgaum)	Pre-war brigade	6 th (Poona)	Mesopotamia	Captured at Kut al Amara April 29 th 1916
19 th (Dehra Dun)	Pre-war brigade	7 th (Meerut)	France, Mesopotamia, Egypt	
20 th (Garhwal)	Pre-war brigade	7 th (Meerut)	France, Egypt	December 1915 joined 10 th Indian Division; March 1916 independent
21 st (Bareilly)	Pre-war brigade	7 th (Meerut)	France, Mesopotamia	Broken up January 20 th 1916
21 st (Bareilly)	Re-formed February 1916	7 th (Meerut)	Mesopotamia, Egypt	
22 nd (Lucknow)	Pre-war brigade	8 th (Lucknow)	Egypt	November 1914 joined 11 th Indian Div ^[4] ; January 1916 broken up
27 th (Bangalore)	Pre-war brigade	9 th (Secunderabad)	East Africa	September 1914 went to East Africa & broken up there
28 th Indian	October 1914	10 th Indian	Egypt, Mesopotamia	December 1915 joined 7 th (Meerut) Division
29 th Indian	October 1914	10 th Indian	Egypt	Became independent March 1916; broken up June 1917
30 th Indian	October 1914	10 th Indian	Egypt, Mesopotamia	Joined 12 th Indian Div Apr 1915; joined 6 th (Poona) Div Sept 1915 [3]
31 st Indian	January 1915	11 th Indian	Egypt	Joined 10 th Indian Div Jan. 1916 ^[4] ; broken up in February 1916
32 nd (Imperial Service)	October 1914	11 th Indian	Egypt	Broken up in January 1916[4]
33 rd Indian	March 1915	12 th Indian	Mesopotamia, Bushire	To Bushire August 1915; broken up December 1915

34 th Indian	December 1915	12 th Indian	Mesopotamia	Joined 15 th Indian Div May 1916; joined 17 th Indian Div August 1917
35 th Indian	December 1915	14 th Indian ^[5]	Mesopotamia	Was attached to 7 th (Meerut) Division January-February 1916
36 th Indian	December 1915	14 th Indian[5]	Mesopotamia, Persia	Joined North Persia Force in June 1918
37 th Indian	February 1916	14 th Indian ^[5]	Mesopotamia	
41 st Indian	February 1916	Independent	Mesopotamia	March 1918 became HQ Euphrates Defences
42 nd Indian	April 1916	15 th Indian	Mesopotamia	
43 rd Indian	March 1917	16 th Indian	India	
44 th Ferozepore	August 1915	3 rd Lahore Divisional Area	India	February 1917 transferred to 16 th Indian Division
45 th Jullundur	February 1917	3 rd Lahore Divisional Area	India	May 1917 transferred to 16 th Indian Division
49 th Indian	March 1917	Independent	Egypt	Broken up January 1918
50 th Indian	August 1917	17 th Indian	Mesopotamia	3 rd (Lahore) Div Aug-Sept 1917; joined 15 th Indian Div Sept 1917
51 st Indian	September 1917	17 th Indian	Mesopotamia	
52 nd Indian	September 1917	15 th Indian	Mesopotamia	October 1917 transferred to 17 th Indian Division
53 rd Indian	November 1917	18 th Indian	Mesopotamia	
54 th Indian	December 1917	18 th Indian	Mesopotamia	
55 th Indian	in January 1918	18 th Indian	Mesopotamia	
56 th Indian	March 1918	Independent	Mesopotamia	August 1918 joined 14 th Indian Division
58 th	HQ formed June 1918	Poona[1]	India	November 1918 transferred to 2 nd (Rawalpindi) Division
59th	HQ formed June 1918	Poona[1]	India	Nov 1918 transferred to 2 nd (Rawalpindi) Div
Peshawar	July 1918	1 st (Peshawar)	India	
Sialkot (Temporary)	March 1915	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	April 1917 'temporary' dropped from title
Nepalese	Arrived Jan 1916 from Nepal	7 th Meerut Divisional Area ^[2]	India	
Galis	June 1916	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	Broken up December 1916
Rawalpindi Additional	September 1918	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	
Jhelum	HQ formed November 1918	2 nd (Rawalpindi)	India	
Ambala	November 1914	3 rd Lahore Divisional Area	India	May 1917 transferred to 16 th Indian Div; June 1918 independent
Karachi	Pre-war brigade	4 th (Quetta)	India	June 1917 became independent
Nasirabad	Pre-war brigade	5 th (Mhow)	India	Abolished October 1915
Nasirabad	Re-formed October 1917	5 th (Mhow)	India	
Jubbulpore	Pre-war brigade	5 th (Mhow)	India	
Jhansi	Pre-war brigade	5 th (Mhow)	India	
Bombay	Pre-war brigade	6 th (Poona)	India	Transferred to 6 th Poona Div. Area Oct 1914; June 1918 independent
Poona	December 1914	6 th Poona Divisional Area ^[1]	India	
Ahmednagar	May 1918	Poona[1]	India	
Bareilly	December 1914	7 th Meerut Divisional Area[2]	India	

Delhi	December 1914	7 th Meerut Divisional Area ^[2]	India	Abolished in February 1915
Delhi	Re-formed December 1918	Meerut Division ^[2]	India	
Dehra Dun	March 1915	7 th Meerut Divisional Area ^[2]	India	Abolished December 1918
Garhwal	April 1917	7 th Meerut Divisional Area ^[2]	India	
Agra	December 1918	Meerut Division	India	
Lucknow	Re-formed July 1917	8 th (Lucknow)	India	
Allahabad	Pre-war brigade	8 th (Lucknow)	India	
Presidency	Pre-war brigade	8 th (Lucknow)	India	
Fyzabad	Pre-war brigade	8 th (Lucknow)	India	Broken up in November 1914
Bangalore	Re-formed January 1917	9 th (Secunderabad)	India	
Southern	Pre-war brigade	9 th (Secunderabad)	India	
Rangoon	Pre-war brigade	Burma	Burma	
Mandalay	Pre-war brigade	Burma	Burma	Broken up in October 1914
Kohat	Pre-war brigade	Independent	NW Frontier India	
Bannu	Pre-war brigade	Independent	NW Frontier India	
Derajat	Pre-war brigade	Independent	NW Frontier India	
Aden	Pre-war brigade	Independent	Aden	
Multan	Formed May 1918	16 th Indian	India	

^[1] In June 1917: 6th Poona Divisional Area became Poona Division

^[2] In June 1917: 7th Meerut Divisional Area became Meerut Division

^[3] Brigade captured at Kut al Amara April 29th 1916

^{[4] 11}th Indian Division was broken up in May 1915 and the brigades under its command (22nd, 31st and 32nd) were placed under the command of Suez Canal Defences

^[5] Between date of formation and May 1916 the brigade was involved in the attempts to relieve Kut al Amara, and joined 14th Indian Division on its formation in May 1916